I was googling Stephenie Meyer and bad writer (don’t ask me why) and came across a question on Yahoo Questions where someone had asked why Meyer was considered a bad writer by some people, and that the questioner considered her to be amazingly talented, brilliant, blah blah blah. A responder (known only to me as the mysterious Una M) stated it perfectly in her rebuttal – if you can’t look at an excerpt from Dickens and an excerpt from Meyer and see the difference, you’re part of the problem.

‘I sat frozen in my seat, staring blankly after him. He was so mean. It wasn’t fair. I began gathering up my things slowly, trying to block the anger that filled me, for fear my eyes would tear up. For some reason, my temper was hardwired to my tear ducts. I usually cried when I was angry, a humiliating tendency.’ (Twilight)

‘It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair.’ (A Tale of Two Cities)

Can everyone write like Dickens? Of course not. Should they aspire to? Fuck yes they should. That is the point.

Speaking of points…

Comments
  1. I know where you’re getting at, but I’m not sure about the Dickens quote. He sure writes like an ace, but you’re comparing introspection to setting. Here’s a quote from Fight Club, which I think straighten the fact that Stephenie Meyer sucks:

    At the time, my life just seemed too complete, and maybe we have to break everything down to make something better out of ourselves. I looked around and said, okay. Okay, I say, but outside in the parking lot. So we went outside, and I asked if Tyler wanted it in the face or in the stomach.

    Tyler said, “Surprise me.”

    I said I had never hit anybody.

    Tyler said, “So go crazy, man.”

    I said, close your eyes.

    Tyler said, “No.”

    Like every guy on his first night in fight club, I breathed in and swung my fist in a roundhouse at Tyler’s jaw like in every cowboy movie we’d ever seen, and me, my fist connected with the side of Tyler’s neck.

    Anyway, nice, blog, consider yourself blogrolled.

    • kellyeparish says:

      I know where you’re getting at, but I’m not sure about the Dickens quote. He sure writes like an ace, but you’re comparing introspection to setting. Here’s a quote from Fight Club, which I think straighten the fact that Stephenie Meyer sucks…

      ^ Good point Ben, I like your example a *lot* better. But my posit still stands, Meyer really can’t write. I’m sure she’s crying all the way to the bank though.

Leave a Reply

