Silver screen.

Posted: July 26, 2010 in Uncategorized

I’ve decided one of the things I’m going to add to Salt Over Shoulder is movie reviews. Why movie reviews on what has effectively up to this point been some kind of aspiring-author-desiring-Horatio-Alger-ending-for-payment-of-general-car-repairs sort of blog? Here are a few reasons:

1. I love movies, and I watch a ton of them. I love discussing them with people. I’m just a big movie dork. My favorite movies are the ones that don’t suck. Some of this is due to the fact that I have an irrational bias about one of the actors or actresses. For example, I will watch anything with Johnny Depp in it without reservation. More likely, the movie didn’t suck because the screenwriting was good.

2. Analyzing movies is good practice for writers – movies are usually pretty good about following the classical fiction structure: opening action/setup, rising action, climax, and resolution. Any deviation of that structure shown in film can be imitated and reproduced in the form of a novel. Also, the success or failure of a film says a lot about their stories in general – what sells and what doesn’t? What sizzles and what falls flat?

3. Writing movie reviews/taking notes forces me to watch films with the mechanics of the writing in mind. Hopefully, this will improve my own analytical story-telling skills as well.

Comments
  1. Are you reading my mind? It seems like it.

    Analyzing movies is one of the best ways to hone your storytelling skills. I actually compare my writing more to movies than books for the simple reason that more people watch movies than read books. Watching a popular movie and understanding what makes it tick is an excellent way to craft your work for a specific audience.

Leave a Reply

