Acceptance is sweet. Rejections still suck.

Posted: July 13, 2010 in Uncategorized

So I know I’ve been neglecting this blog, because frankly I’m attention deficit and I’ve had a lot on my plate as of late. Sorry, I’ll try to do better. However, literature never sleeps, so I’ve had to deal with a few rejections from Clarkesworld and Comet Press to scar my tender artist’s psyche (just kidding, if I took rejections to heart at this point I’d be a whimpering puddle of self-pity by now).

Used to be, when I first started writing, my rejection reaction was a little bit less controllable than it is now. From what I understand, most writers exist in a schizoid state of self-congratulating egoism alternating with withering doubt about one’s artistic abilities, so my rejections went a little like this…

Luckily, I have a really short attention span, so the months of wounded pride and therapy-worthy sulking I should be experiencing after every literary blow get abridged to a day or two of moping, followed by my extreme procrastination on about fifty other things. I also have a Leo’s ego no editor could break forever, so this despondent stage never lasts too long for me. Before you know it, disappointment turns to indignation, which I can usually manage to refine into productive fury. I crawl out of the pit of rejected despair, dust myself off, and then I’m back to this:

Anyway, there’s cause for celebration too. I made it past the first cut of submissions over at Shroud magazine for “Animal Person”, which made me all kinds of happy because I have a ton of respect for that magazine and I would literally break into impromptu riverdance if they accepted any of my work. Then, yesterday, I checked my email and saw I had also been accepted over at Tales of the Zombie War for “Zombie Monkey”, an old trunk story from a creative writing class that has always tickled the back of my mind as an idea for a longer piece (coughunfinishednovelcough).

I’ve already gotten a handful of very positive comments over there (including requests for me to lengthen the piece into a series or longer story) and I got some really great related plot ideas brewing on my commute to work this morning, so right now extending “Zombie Monkey” is the plan. 

You can read “Zombie Monkey” here: http://www.talesofworldwarz.com/stories/2010/07/12/zombie-monkey-by-kellye-parish/

Leave a Reply

